Good Morning America Appearance

We are very excited to announce we have been invited to appear on Good Morning America on Monday, June 8th 2009 to talk about our story and promote our book. Please be sure to tune in! Keep checking back to this blog for more updates!

33 Responses to “Good Morning America Appearance”

  1. Alice Violet Says:

    I think it is wonderful that as parents you allowed your beliefs to be challenged to stand beside your sons experience.

    PS- I was lucky enough to also be on GMA, isn’t the entire crew wonderful!

  2. Micaella Says:

    Good morning, I saw your family on the show this morning and must say I share dreams about war and I am a 36 year old female who has never been in any military setting. I don’t have them as much anymore but had them all the time as a child. Thank you for bringing this reality of your son to light. It makes me feel a little less crazy!

    Take care!

    • andrealeininger Says:

      Micaella,
      One of the things that helped me realize that my son was experiencing genuine memories was the numerous responses from people like you who have personally dealt with this phenomenon, and found themselves challenged by it as well. Thank you so much for your post.

  3. marykretzmann Says:

    I just saw the video on yahoo news. It’s fascinating story. My children also had some past life memories that were undeniable.

    Also, as an FYI regarding faith, the Church only debunked reincarnation around 500 AD, I belive. Before that – it was accepted, and some of Christ’s words can be understood with that in mind.

    This chapter on Reincarnation may be of interest to you. It has some stories of other children with such memories, as well as some of the history of spiritual doctrine in the Judeo-Christian tradition.

    http://www.ananda.org/inspiration/books/path/28.html

    Sincerely,
    Mary Kretzmann

    • andrealeininger Says:

      Mary, Thank you for your reply. I look forward to reading the link as soon as the dust settles and I have a few minutes to take a breath. I hope reading our book will provide additional help with your own children’s experiences. Also, go to the links on the website to access Carol Bowman’s forum. There are hundreds of parents who post there who have children with similar experiences.
      In Faith,

      Dre

    • Bruce Leininger Says:

      Thanks for the link to the book. I have just skimmed a couple of chapters. The thing that drive me is that the human race has a common thread of seeking answers to the mystery. In each instance of religious or spiritual enlightment it is faith that one must ultimately rely on because the spirit that each of us carries requires that element of faith.
      God bless you,
      Bruce

      • Rick Stierwalt Says:

        This may be not quite the correct time or place to mention this, but I’ve come across a very interesting web site called “TED talks” which gives some very enlightening talks which anybody can see. I would highly recommend telling your story about James on this. I’ve believed in reincarnation for 30 years now and find your story the most researched of all of them.Thanks – Rick

  4. Steve Jones Says:

    You have such an interesting story. I can relate that as parents you had to believe that what James was saying as a two year old had to come from somewhere else. The head of the paranormal research society that Chris Cuomo interviewed seemed to not want to understand that children that age don’t know how to lie or fabricate stories. They only know what they know. Their sponge-like minds have not been soaked through with all that society pours into them as they get older. I hope that for both James and James Jr., there lives will come to mean something.
    I will be buying the book and looking forward to its delivery.

    Sincerely, Steve

    • andrealeininger Says:

      Steve, Thank you, and I hope you enjoy the book. You’ll have to let me know your thoughts once you’ve finished reading it.

      Dre

    • Bruce Leininger Says:

      Steve,

      The folks that think they have all this figured out are probably relatives of the folks that designed the Titanic. They surmise that their theories are unsinkable – the rest is history we read.

      I am perfectly willing to change my mind about what happened if someone can come along with as soundly a detailed proof of their opinion – because until you can prove it. It is theri opinion.

      I was the skeptic – as an alalogy – it was I as a skeptic that believed the world was flat until the facts said it was not so.

      I appreciate your support for our story.

      Bruce

  5. bs Says:

    i love how your husband said he is a devout christian and believes in reincarnation. the point he was trying to make didn’t make any sense. he was completely contradicting himself. eternal life is not reincarnation. next time he makes an appearance he should get it a little more together.

    The concept of reincarnation is completely without foundation in the Bible, which clearly tells us that we die once and then face judgment (Hebrews 9:27). The Bible never mentions people having a second chance at life or coming back as different people or animals. Jesus told the criminal on the cross, “Today you will be with me in paradise” (Luke 23:43), not “You will have another chance to live a life on this earth.” Matthew 25:46 specifically tells us that believers go on to eternal life while unbelievers go onto eternal punishment. Reincarnation has been a popular belief for thousands of years, but it has never been accepted by Christians or followers of Judaism because it is contradictory to Scripture.

    The one passage that some point to as evidence for reincarnation is Matthew 17:10-12 which links John the Baptist with Elijah. However, the passage does not say that John the Baptist was Elijah reincarnated but that he would have fulfilled the prophecy of Elijah’s coming if the people had believed his words and thereby believed in Jesus as the Messiah (Matthew 17:12). The people specifically asked John the Baptist if he was Elijah, and he said, “No, I am not” (John 1:21).

    Belief in reincarnation is an ancient phenomenon and is a central tenet within the majority of Indian religious traditions, such as Hinduism, Sikhism, and Jainism. Many modern pagans also believe in reincarnation as do some New Age movements, along with followers of spiritism. For the Christian, however, there can be no doubt: reincarnation is unbiblical and must be rejected as false.

    • andrealeininger Says:

      I apprecaite your reply. I am not here to challenge your beliefs or try to get you to change your mind about reincarnation. Our book is the story of an amazing experience that our family went through, and how it challenged us as parents AND as Christians. I don’t think my husband contradicted himself. There are many Christians who DO believe in reincarnation – myself being one of them. We are regular church members, and my son has been going to private Episcopal School since pre-K. James goes to chapel 5 days a week, and church on Sunday. Every day in the Apostles Creed we recite “…He (Jesus) will come again to judge the living and the dead.” When Jesus does return, will he suddenly materialize as his former self, or will he be reborn, or, reincarnated? We also pray for “Life Everlasting.” I now believe that life everlasting is exactly that. As a very young child, James spoke about going to heaven, who met him there, that returning to earth was a personal choice, and he spoke about God. If you read our book, you may be surprised by the details that are revealed as we go through this journey of fact vs. faith.

    • Bruce Leininger Says:

      Dear BS,

      I appreciate your opinion and will try to keep my act together.
      Judgement day will confront each of us.
      I have a couple of questions.
      Does the bible answer each and every question?
      Can you describe paradise and the parameters of its existence?
      Because the Bible says nothing or little about the phenomena we have described does that mean it is completely untenable as a possibilty?
      The Bible forms the basis of my faith. My salvation is through the acceptance of Jesus Christ as my Savior.
      The journey we have traveled in this story about my son tells what happened.
      It has caused many people to take pause to conmtemplate their journey to salvation or damnation. It it helps them on theri journey that will be good.

    • Deborah Says:

      Dear bs,

      You might want to research your religion. There is a vast amount of documentation to look into – beyond what you have stated here.

      Carol Bowman’s first book “Children’s Past Lives” has a whole chapter titled “Dogma Bites Man.”

      http://www.childpastlives.org/vBulletin/showthread.php?t=1032

      I hope you enjoy the read.

      • Bruce Leininger Says:

        Deborah,
        Yes, There is much to learn. BS has his point of view and belief system. The journey of our spirit is a personal one. Each soul must find their way. Citing scripture is easy and simple. You repeat what someone else said about what someone else did. Be assured I am not making fun of this. However, each of us must confront the reality of the salvation we seek. The story about our son is about what actually happpened. It baffled us. It frighten me because is was about the unknown.

        I have thought about what witnesses to Jesus’ 1st visit to earth felt about what he said and did. It frightened them – Walking on water – turning water to wine – feeding the multitude during his sermon on the mount – raising Lazarus – his resurrection and Thomas sticking his finger in his wound.

        Sooner or later the cacoon of scripture will be replaced by the gates of judgment. Each of us must be girded by faith and hope that judgment is favorable. The spirit our son carries returned to us mortals. It has caused me to contemplate my journey – to come closer to my God. BS has hsi place in this. His criticism tempers me – but does not subtract from my faith.
        God bless you.

        Bruce

    • Fred Says:

      To BS, your deep seeded beliefs are admirable, but ultimately only words. Who are we,and you, to interpret God in such a way that limits Him. The problem with fundamentalism, no matter the topic is it closes the door on all other thoughts. Who are we to say the Great Creator cannot return souls to earth. I too am a committed Christian and a fervent Reincarnationist. My memories of a past life are very real. I struggled just as the Leiningers must have. But ultimately I learned that it is a blessing, a gift. I shiver at fundamentalist who throw out their passages like stones.

      Bruce and Andrea I admire your courage. And am grateful you could bring your story to the forefront of American culture. For many of us closet Reincarnationists we are proud you took the steps to tell the truth. Life is a journey and this truth will only help those who can hear it. Thank you for writing your book.

      • Bruce Leininger Says:

        Fred,

        Brother, you and I are on the same wave length.

        Thanks for your feedback.

        My awareness of God’s miracle and gift has been enhanced by this experience. It is akin to have believing the world is flat and now I recognize it to be a sphere.
        My opinion is that God permitted Jim’s spirit to return to us through our son to have us question what his means fo reach of us.
        Bruce

    • marykretzmann Says:

      Dear BS,

      I don’t know if you will see my reply…I was only just look through some comments I’ve made on wordress and found this discussion had developed since I last left a comment.

      Sometimes we cling to our beloved dogmas because they give us comfort. But we also have to look reality in the face. This family’s story is remarkable because of the verifiable details. And there is not the first case. I was also struck by the way the boy was healed by releasing the memory out where his plane had gone down in his past life. This is very consistent with some healing work I have done, both for myself and for others.

      For instance, one day a man came to me for healing prayers. He had an illness that the doctors considered incurable, and they said he would need to be on low-grade chemotherapy for the rest of his life (it was a very serous fungal illness). Long story short, in the healing prayer session he was able to release a memory from about 500 years ago in which he had been deeply betrayed by his fellow monks in a monastery. He was not aware of this memory – it was deeply held in the subconscious until we prayed about what was causing the illness. He was then cured of the “incurable” illness. This world is very vast…

      Reincarnation is not incompatible with Christ’s teaching, or the Bible. It is just incompatible with the way you were taught about those things. And yes – the story of the thief on the cross is one of the most beautiful stories in the Bible. “Today you will be with me in paradise” (Luke 23:43),

      Think about it – he recognized the Christ ON THE CROSS – when he looked defeated…So here is a thief – who sees a man being crucified -a and yet he reveres Him as the Christ -and asks his blessing …Amazing…

      It is very possible that his soul was freed in that moment, and he needed to go no more out…It was by grace and soul intuition that he knew this was the Christ…

      Mary

  6. Kat Says:

    I just saw this amazing story and had to post a comment. I certainly would love to correspond to you to talk in greater detail as my son too is a soul survivor. From the time he could first talk, he would tell us stories of how he and he wife lived in the frontier wild west. In specific details!!! Nothing a boy of two could ever know. I look forward to reading your book. It is nice to know, we are not alone…..and yes, this did stretch my Christian beliefs and faith too!

    • andrealeininger Says:

      Kat, as soon as time permits, I would love to hear more about your son’s experience. One of the reasons I wanted to write this book was to reach parents like you who had similar experiences with their own children. I believe this in not an uncommon phenomenon, and that the more we research and learn about it, the more we will come to understand about the human spirit.
      In Faith,

      Dre

    • Aili Says:

      Hi Kat,

      If you are looking to talk with other parents who have children experiencing past lives, Carol Bowman’s Past Life Forum is an extremely valuable resource. There is a section for Children’s Memories along with information and threads containing help for parents.

      You might find Carol’s first book “Children’s Past Lives” to be helpful; I know many parents have.

      I hope everything is going well for you Andrea & Bruce! Best of luck with the book.

      Aili

  7. Linda Greenlese Says:

    I saw your appearance on GMA on Monday, ordered your book from Amazon the same day, received it on Wednesday, and just finished it. Every time I got to the parts where James gave you information, I literally had chills all over my body. I am astounded by the lengths you went to to make sense of it all, but how could you not? What a wonderful gift you have given your son and all the war veterans and their families. I wish you and James the best and thank you for writing this book. I will be passing it on to others and will probably re-read it myself!

    • Bruce Leininger Says:

      Linda,

      The book still raises my hair and I have lived with it for 9 years. Making sense out of this has been a real challenge. We are blessed to have had the opportunity to chase this to a definite conclusion.
      Lot’s of spiritual and emotional healing has occurred with the veterans and families of the men lost because of this journey.
      I judge the tree by the fruit it bears. So far this tree is bearing fruit that promotes the spiritual journey of each Christian. We chase Salvation because eternity awaits.
      Bruce

  8. Vickie Hanson Says:

    After seeing your story on the GMA program this week, I went straight to the bookstore to buy your book. I read it in two sittings, soaking up every detail. I am stunned at the many ‘revelations’ that James3 shared. Your story is more than compelling! It kept me awake last night, prompting thoughts of several of my own experiences, including dreams/fears of a past life, and a strong ‘prompting’ to have another child. This book — or your family’s story — is such a phenomena in our culture, yet your story feels so natural. Can’t help but feel love for all of you and best wishes for little James in his journey.

    • Bruce Leininger Says:

      Vickie,
      Thanks for your support and reception of our story. Doing this creates some vulnerability but the story is the story and we are glad to have finally told it to the world.
      We deeply appreciate your comments and are flattered. this is a humbling event.
      Bruce Leininger

  9. Sue S. Says:

    So intruigued by your appearance on GMA, I was eager to buy the book. Sitting down yesterdy to begin the book, I found I literally couldn’t turn the pages fast enough until I was done! Yours is an amazing, thrilling story of the love for your son, and the lengths you went to help him find peace. Raised strictly Catholic, this concept was unthinkable. As I’ve aged, things no longer seem so black & white. Surely your story confirms that God’s vision for us is so much greater than we can comprehend. Thank you so much for sharing your story.

  10. Doby Says:

    Saw your interview on Fox And Friends. That same day I ordered it from Barnes and Nobel. Couldn’t wait for it’s arrival. The evening of the day it arrived I started reading it and didn’t stop until I finished it. I had tears in my eyes reading the last two chapters. I don’t know how anyone could doubt this reincarnation. The incident of James telling Andrea about how and where he chose you to be his parents is very interesting. I’ve told a lot of relatives and friends about the book.
    Tonight I heard your interview on Coast To Coast on AM Radio. The interview was great. The book would make a good movie. Thanks for sharing your story.

  11. Bill Wasserman Says:

    Bruce and Andrea,

    I enjoyed hearing you on Coast to Coast. I can tell you are nurturing protective parents. Probably why James selected you. Gods ways are not our ways. His thoughts are not our thoughts. So it is hard to comprehend all of this. I guess sometimes you have to sit in awe and just enjoy the moment.

    I did have a question. You mentioned last night James discribed God as neither male or female but whatever you needed him to be. Pretty insightful. I was wondering did James ever mention anything specific about meeting Jesus and any descriptions of heaven?

    God bless,

    Bill

  12. Rubem Rocha Says:

    Brasileiro, não escrevo em inglez, mas li o livro e fiquei impressionado. Parabens pela coragem de colocar essa história em público.

  13. maggie Says:

    Dear James, andrea and bruce
    Not finding any blogs past 2009 – so are you still keeping website?
    If your stories are true, it appears your son experienced communication from a deceased, as many of us have, and is common in all faiths and non-faiths across the world.Cetainly nothing to make a big hoopla of. But a sacred, personal, special happening to be shared in a nonflamboyant way, and with reverence.
    Of course, stories on reincarnation bring more money for their sensationalism. Ordinary encounters with the dead, your Catholic saints and etc. are well documented, including details of events from those who are deceased, made known to the living.
    Shame on you if this is the case – another child exploited by parents.
    Any reason, being devout as you claim, that you did not go to your church first, – and leave it there?
    What kind of parents put their child in the spotlight?
    You couldn’t wait til he became an adult and chose for himself?
    how sad – unless all your profits are going to the orphans of veterans or some other worthy charity…
    All who gain materially from the innocent lives of children have an evilness that is contemptable.

  14. Andrew Waters Says:

    Maggie writes:

    Dear James, andrea and bruce,

    ”If your stories are true, it appears your son experienced communication from a deceased, as many of us have, and is common in all faiths and non-faiths across the world.Cetainly nothing to make a big hoopla of. But a sacred, personal, special happening to be shared in a nonflamboyant way, and with reverence.”

    Andrew says:

    Wouldn’t it be better if you had said: ”[Since] your storie s are true,” and you seemingly acknowledge this by saying ”common in all faiths and non-faiths across the world” then why the denial of a truth and suggesting it needs reverence to the exclusion of a truth that can best establish your reverence? Where is the logic in your denial. In a court of law a lawyer will ask for the same type evidence the Leiningers presented. This type evidence surely buttresses the circumstantial.

    Then there’s this:

    ”Of course, stories on reincarnation bring more money for their sensationalism. Ordinary encounters with the dead, your Catholic saints and etc. are well documented, including details of events from those who are deceased, made known to the living.
    Shame on you if this is the case – another child exploited by parents.
    Any reason, being devout as you claim, that you did not go to your church first, – and leave it there?
    What kind of parents put their child in the spotlight?
    You couldn’t wait til he became an adult and chose for himself?
    how sad – unless all your profits are going to the orphans of veterans or some other worthy charity…
    All who gain materially from the innocent lives of children have an evilness that is contemptable.”

    What!

    Maggie please.

  15. Andrew Waters Says:

    To Andrea and Bruce Leininger and my little man James.

    I first saw a portion of your interview probably about the time you were making appearances in 2009 (I believe). It was my intention of purchasing the book when it made its appearance but somehow it was moved away from my view, much to my chagrin now.

    As it happened I was on Amazon looking for something unrelated to your book and thanks to them they keep a record of similar likes; in this case it had to be military because I had no interest in reincarnation. So this is how I came to be reacquainted with Soul Survivor. Once I received the book and started reading it had me riveted from start to finish. Simply stated the book overwhelmed me. And this is coming from a guy who has no interest in reincarnation. But little James has convinced me we do indeed live in a very strange world. Strange indeed.

    Good stuff Andrea and Bruce–and my little man James

Leave a Reply

